Business owner? Add your listing!
Menu

My Cart

My Profile


Click here to login

My Business


Click here to login
Cellarman's Ale House

Big Map Get Directions

Cellarman's Ale House
Nicole And Dan Lamers
337 King Street
Midland, Ontario L4R 3M7

705-526-8223 | phone

Payment Methods
Cash Visa MasterCard American Express Discover Card Debit Card Travellers Cheques Gift Certificate
Hours of Operation
Monday:11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday:11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday:11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday:11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday:11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday:11:30 am - 12:00 am
Sunday:Closed
Our Memberships
Cellarman's Ale House

32 Reviews
ShopMidland.com is not responsible for the content of any reviews or recommendations posted.

5 days ago
Marie , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I don't visit this pub very often but when I do the food is good, the beer is cold and the staff is ALWAYS warm and welcoming!! Highly recommended :)

Share On Facebook

4 months ago
Gabe , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I went in 3:15 on a Friday afternoon. One table of 4 was leaving. One patron enjoying a glass of red wine and one woman enjoying the lunch special. She may have been staff. It took a few minutes for a menu but that was ok. Took a while longer for a menu and quite a bit longer to order and I was really hungry. I ordered the steak and mushroom pot pie with ceasar salad. The plate arrived surprisingly quick. The salad was excellent. The pot pie....was awful. Inedible and I am not picky. The pastry was not cooked. Just a slab of white glue on top of mush meat with corn, mushrooms and turnip. It really was mush. No liquid. The waitress did not return to enquire if all was well despite my pushing the plate to the opposite side of the table . I started reading my book. When she finally did come by and removed the plate, she did not enquire how I enjoyed the meal or if there was anything wrong. Obviously there was as the pot pie was barely touched. The pastry could not even be cut . No enquiry of desert or anything else. Never returned with a bill. I had to finally read some more than decided I had better be going. Was given the bill at the register 21 odd dollars for the worst meal ever. Paid with debit ..no words spoken For the first time in my life I didn't leave a tip. I hadn't been back to this pub in a few years since I went in and tried their curry. That was not great either. Never complained then because it was busy and I figure it was a one off.. Maybe I should have but felt this time I will review because...it wasn't busy ..and the food was worse. I won't be going back.

Share On Facebook

8 months ago
Bob , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Our musical "Duo" performed at Cellarman's recently and we would like to send out kudos to Skip and Shauna for the great job they did. Skip had our favourite drinks waiting for us even before we began to set up and the service and hospitality we have received from them over the years has been second to none! We appreciate it and so do the patrons who keep returning. Give those 2 a raise!

Share On Facebook

9 months ago
Carri Blue , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
We just had the best supper! Great service, great food and great prices too!!! Definitely going to return when we are in Midland next.

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
kmounsteven , a member from VICTORIA HARBOUR,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Hi.......I wish to update my review that I wrote a month ago. Nicole, the owner, responded to me in a most understanding and kind way.....and thus my family and I did go back.....we were treated so special and honourably.......we had so much fun and will definately be going back to enjoy the wonderful food and atmosphere many times again Thankyou for you kindness Nicole Sincerely Kathy, Grant and family

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Shawn hykawy , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The staff was very friendly but that’s where the good stops I ordered wings fingers and fries supreme order was 85 dollars fries were over cooked chicken fingers were very small and dried out and my wife said her wings were tasteless that the celery tasted better

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Dan Lamers , the Business Owner,  wrote:
Hi Shawn, Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I understand that you spoke to Nicole today and she has addressed your issues. I hope you are satisfied with the resolution and see fit to retract your review. Sincerely, Dan and Nicole

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
K. Mounsteven , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Sent from my iPad

Begin forwarded message:

From: Kathleen Mounsteven Date: September 19, 2017 at 8:28:39 PM EDT To: Kathleen Mounsteven Subject: Fwd:

Sent from my iPad

Begin forwarded message:

From: Kathleen Mounsteven Date: September 19, 2017 at 8:14:42 PM EDT To: kmounsteven@yahoo.ca

I am appalled at the completely rude service we had tonight.....September 19,2017. We were there to celebrate my oldest daughter's birthday and enjoyed a wonderful family dinner together. At the end and completely full, my daughter who is a grown woman, wanted to take home her left over wings as did my other daughter....who is also a grown woman....... The server (never saw her there before) was annoyed that my daughter did not eat many wings and wanted to some home and gave her a lecture about it like she was a bad girl....and was completely annoyed about it and said "imagine if everyone did that.....we would not have any wings).......they were paid for.....what was the servers problem. This server completely ruined everything and stood there shaking her head and rolling her eyes......and when my daughter got up and went over to pay the bill the server wanted to continue chastising my daughter to the point that my daughter had to insist that the server stop talking......needless to say my daughter was very upset......I might add that we had salads and drinks and appetizers etc. The thing that is most upsetting is that we go there often to celebrate birthdays in our family, in fact, we celebrated my daughter's 40th birthday with a party there. We have always enjoyed it very much and often take food home that we don't finish......I will no longer be recommending it to anyone. The food is paid for so I do not like the rudeness and disrespect that was shown to my grown daughter and for that server ruining our evening.......WE WON'T BE BACK

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
kmounsteven , a member from VICTORIA HARBOUR,  wrote:
Hi Nicole.....my family and I would like to thankyou so very much for the awesome dinner and fun tonight (November 7/17) It was outstanding evening and you made us feel so special and welcome. See you soon Sincerely Kathy and Grant and family

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
kmounsteven , a member from ,  wrote:
, Hi Nicole.....my family and I would like to thankyou so very much for the awesome dinner and fun tonight. It was outstanding evening and you made us feel so special and welcome. See you soon Sincerely Kathy and Grant and family 

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Susan Canning , an Anonymous Member,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Went for our 23rd Anniversary, always loved Cellarmans, we were not let down. Steve (our server) terrific, food~AMAZING, love this place. Already know what I'm getting the next time I go for dinner. Can't wait.

Share On Facebook

7 years ago
Melissa & Kevin , a member from Penetang,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
You can always count on Cellermans for great drinks, food and the best atmosphere in the area. You'll always meet friends and nice people there, the service is friendly and fun and it's just a great place. If you don't go there you're missing out! It's everyone's fav spot!

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
A Local , a member from Midland area,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
My girlfriend and I stopped in late on a Friday afternoon for a drink and ended up staying for dinner. Chatted with Jaime for a while and he was telling us about your new menu and fabulous food that Chris was creating. My girlfriend has a few dietary issues such as gluten and lactose. Chris came out and talked to us, went over the menu to see what our preferences were and created a wonderful dinner for us. The service was excellent and friendly. I haven't been to Cellarman's for quite awhile, and I was really impressed with both the food and the service. Keep up the good work. Marie Fairbanks (Classic Party Services)

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
tina and dar , a member from midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
last week was the first time that a ate at cellermans i really enjoyed the pulled pork sandwhich but the platter was the best ever great variet of mixed starters mushroom, garlic bread,deep fried pickles,wings nacho's andpotatoe skins i think that i would just make the platter even better if you added one more item maybe 3chicken fingers or mozza sticks , i found a new place to go of for dinner at cellermans i found lots of things that i would like to try and i wil.

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
Kim & John Holloway , a member from Barrie,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
We went here tonight for dinner for the very first time and it turned out they had just changed the menu and tonight was the first night with it so we were like guinee pigs so to speak. We started out with an appetizer called yorkie minis and they were delicious, then I had the Braised Irish Lamb dish and it was absolutely amazing and John had the Spicey Jambalia dish and he said it was GREAT!! The atmosphere was welcoming and homey, the service was great! We enjoyed it so much that we are looking forward to going back real soon.

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
Dan Lamers , the Business Owner,  wrote:
I'm glad you enjoyed your night out Kim! Out staff has been working hard on this new menu and it's great to hear that the work has paid off. Come back to see us soon and pass the word to your friends that Cellarman's has much more to offer than just great beer!

Dan

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
Joe , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Go there once in a while usually Friday or Saturday nite, Went a month or so ago and Watched a really good group called Kitty & the Boys and they had a Singer called Madame there with them, was a really good show! I hope they have them back soon...the place was hoppin that nite! And really good food! Bring them back Please! We need good shows in Midland ! Thx.

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
Dan Lamers , the Business Owner,  wrote:
Hi Jay,

I'm glad you enjoyed hanging out at Cellarman's. We try to bring in entertainment once a month and we have Blind Mary playing on January 21. We are proud of the food that we prepare and we have great chef's behind the scenes. Watch for our new menu this month with some fresh ideas! By the way, you gave us a great review, so why only 3 stars...

Thanks! Dan

Share On Facebook

8 years ago
Ann , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
We recently went as a group of us on a Friday night and had dinner, drinks and listened to ?Blind Mary?. As per usual when we go, we had an excellent time. All of us enjoyed the food. We so enjoy the music of this Band that we wish they could play more often. Although the service can be slow when getting drinks, we understand that it is busier than usual when there is the band playing (so we just start ordering 2 drinks at a time to solve the problem :) ) The waitress is friendly and I forget the guys name, but he is the best waiter around town!! Thanks again for a great night! PS- it would be really nice if you continued to have even a solo guitar/singer player occasionally as well ?? We would love to see other local talented people in our area.

Share On Facebook

9 years ago
Trevor Hayes , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Can't wait to go again.

Share On Facebook

9 years ago
Jen , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I always have a great time at Cellarman's -- their staff is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere is very comfortable and laid-back, and their menu is full of the perfect pub food to satisfy anyone :)

Share On Facebook

9 years ago
Lauren Fagan , a member from Elmvale,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Great atmosphere! Great live music!

Share On Facebook

9 years ago
Charlotte McCarty , a member from Hagersville, Ontario,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
On a whim travelling up north we stopped at a small pub in Midland called the 'Cellarman's Ale House'. I have found that the smaller venues can excite my appetite. Having sampled the new menu I was pleasantly surprised by the unique flavours. I was pleased to find that MSG and no Trans Fats are NOT part of the added taste to the food. Kudo's to the new chef while he experiments. The chef was very accommodating to our needs. And very impressed with the usage of local produce in their menu as well. I found the atmosphere to be warm and inviting on a chilly fall day. Sometimes the smaller guy is overlooked for the chain restaurant. Why not try this pub. You won't find the menu repeated anywhere else, especially with this kind of variety.

Mrs. McCarty

Share On Facebook

9 years ago
jai c , a member from midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I love everything about Cellarmans... fantastic new menu and great staff. homemade soup of the day... beer battered fish n chips... sheppards pie, steak and mushroom pie, chicken pot pie ... comfort food for those chilly fall/winter days... um um good! fresh cut french fries, sweet potato fries and award winning chicken wings are all Cellarmans crowd favourites. Outstanding selection of domestic and imported draft... bottled beer, mixed drinks and when your in the mood for a Martini... Bartenders Char and Jaime know there stuff, be sure to have them mix and shake you up a Cosmo, Chocotini, Crantini or have a new martini created especially for you. Cellarmans Pub.. Midlands hidden treasure.... I am usually at the Pub on Thursdays, sometimes Friday, but everyday is great... check it out... making new friends is FREE... CHEERS!

Share On Facebook

10 years ago
Mike , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Love the food usually get the yard sale with two pounds of wings either honey garlic or guiness bbq with all that and a few rounds of the strongbow cider Char and Skip always could company even when busy. Havent been to a band night but I am working on it, great feel not a bar to pick up but to go w friends and enjoy, wish more ppl would realize that.

Share On Facebook

10 years ago
Carl , a member from Penetang,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
This is a great pub but I think the management needs to sit down and realize that the bands bring in the people. I don't understand why bands are booked to play once a month! The place is always packed when there is live music and the atmosphere is incredible. Bring back Caber Toss please! These guys have amazing energy and always bring in a large crowd.

Share On Facebook

10 years ago
Anonymous , a member from Nova Scotia,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Best Wings around (Tuesday Nights). Great restaurant lots of happy times. Excellent atmosphere. Cold Beer. You won't be disappointed.

Cheers!

Share On Facebook

10 years ago
Johnstone's Music Land , a member from Midland, Ontario,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
We were at Cellarman's January 23/09. It was Robbie Burns night. It was the most fun we've had in years. It was packed, the beer was great, The band was Blind Mary. Totally awesome. If you get a chance to go to Cellarmans when this band is playing GO, you won't be disappointed!~

Share On Facebook

10 years ago
Christine , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I really like Cellermans. The caesar salad is the most amazing salad ever! The dressing is homemade and garlicky..yum. I have tried the potato skins, which the first time were amazing, the second and third time I had them the potatoes were not cooked enough and were kind of raw in the middle. Too much potato, not enough toppings. I haven't had them again. Overall it's a great place to meet for drinks, have a quick bite etc..but I agree with the others that it could do with a bit of an update, but not too much cause you want to keep the small cozy, Irish feel to it. Cheers!

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
Kelly , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Great restaurant! The staff immediately make you feel at home and are very flexible, they get you what you want, how you want it. Nice relaxing environment to have drinks, snacks or an all out dinner/lunch with friends or coworkers. I will be back!

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
Jimmy , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Cellermans = Happy fun times See you at cellermans! Ill be there again! and again and again againgaingaingagainagainagainagain

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
Anonymous , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Well I keep reading the local reviews of restuarants and as a local I have to say that I am very proud of how this establishments works. Then again you read comments like Mr. Gould (the cidiot) who thinks that his continuous demeaning comments are going to really reflect on what people think of this establisment or any other in town is quite pathetic. Obviously this pathetic person has nothing else to do with his time and obvilously thinks he is educated enough to call himself a food critic. Well dear sir (and I us that term losely) you are wrong. The service and food that you apparently get from any establishment will never be to your very high standards, so please do everyone a favor and stay home and cook your own food, and spend the next few days critizing yourself, because apprently NO ONE can make your silly close minded pallet happy! It really gets on my nerves with morons such as Mr. Gould have nothing better to do with his time then constantly badger those who are trying to make a go of a small business. So on the short note Mr. Gould do us all a favor and stay home, frankly I don't think anyone really wishes to have you in patronizing thier establishments, nor do I think any of them need your pitiful pocket book and your lousy tips.

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
Richard Gould , a member from Unionville, Ontario,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Over the past several months, I have eaten at Cellerman's Ale House, hoping that things would improve. The fact is that the place doesn't improve. The 'cook' can't cook. The food is actually getting worse with each experience. The last effort was served with a presentation of pitifully burnt fries that should have been thrown out from the previous days efforts. There's no reason to get excited about anything else in Cellerman's limited menu. Enough is Enough. Although I generally support the small independent businessman, this place should close it's doors and retire from the food scene.

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
John Dewyze , a member from Toronto,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The best chicken wings in the world.

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
marg , a member from midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Great little place but is in total need of a makeover. They need to call 'Restraurant Makeover' from HGTV, and gut the place, update the food, more fresh ingredients, less deep fry.

I remember going to this place when it was Mama Maria's...well over 20 years ago and the decor hasn't changed since.

Share On Facebook

11 years ago
Samantha , a member from Victoria Harbour,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I recently visited Cellarmans, and ordered a finger platter of some sort. It was so overly deep fried that it all tasted greasy and burnt. The beer was great, but I don't think I'll return for something to eat again.

Share On Facebook

12 years ago
Richard Gould , a member from Unionville, Ontario,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
If you're looking for Cellarman's Ale House, look down the alley from the street. This is a destination location and if you're lucky to be there when the cook has his act together you'll be rewarded with great pub fare. It's all there and you'll enjoy the great choice of suds to wash down that food.

The challenge of Cellarman's is its inconsistancy to deliver great pub food. The atmosphere is dingy and dated. Honestly, guys, freshen up the place. It doesn't have to look like a snow mobile stop on some back- woods trail.

We ate some of the best wings which challenged those specialty wing joints in Toronto. The meat pie made a wholesome and honest meal. The burger was big enough to give you a hernia and you'd enjoy it if it did. The steak sandwiches are tender, meaty and plentiful. The menue is varied and will appeal to most hungry stomachs. Can I also suggest that you add a couple of deserts to the menue. Some of us do have a sweet tooth. Can I suggest humongous buttertarts, mile high lemon pie and rice pudding (with raisons) would be a welcome finish to the meal.

' Works for me' means that the place is not a horrible disappointment but can do much better with a little effort.

Share On Facebook

12 years ago
L.A.'S ENTERTAINMENT DJ & KARAOKE SERVICES 705-533... , a member from 356 LaFontaine Rd W, Penetanguishene, Ontario L9M 1R3,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The atmosphere and staff are wonderful. The food is delicious. I highly recommend Cellarman's to my network of friends. There is only one thing that could improve the ambiance, featuring "L A's Entertainment", weekly!

Cheers, Mark Anthony & Laurie Ann

Share On Facebook


Post a Review
Please do not review your own business. If you do, your review will show up highlighted in green and will be deleted.
You are responsible for the content of your review. You may be held liable if the content of your review is deemed to be defamatory.

Name: *
Location: *
Email: *
Photo:



(Optional: Attach your photo)

Rating:
 *    Select the number of stars for your rating
Review: *
    



Share
Post to Twitter


Fish and Chips
PUB BURGER
Stuffed Chicken
Curry Chicken Pot Pie
Nachos
Subscribe For Updates
News   Go
Find Us On Facebook





About ShopMidland.com




~ Other Shop Local Advocates ~

400Eleven CLHFoundation.ca Discovery Harbour Downtown Midland BIA Festival du Loup Georgian Bay Cancer Support Centre
Huronia Museum MidlandCommunity.ca MidlandFilmClub.com North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation Sainte-Marie Among The Hurons Southern Georgian Bay Chamber of Commerce
Town of Midland Wye Marsh Wildlife Centre

© 2018 ShopCity.com, Inc. - All Rights Reserved

    |    

ShopCity.com