add business my business joinlogin
0
 
 
Gift Registry
Shopping List
#
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
Post to Twitter Share On Facebook Email to a Friend
 
ShopMidland.com is not responsible for the content of any reviews or recommendations posted.

7 months ago
Grant MacDonald , a member from Toronto,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Visiting in Midland area. Just had supper. Amazing food. My wife had fish &chips. Fish was crunchy on the outside and flaky and moist on inside. I had an amazing jambalaya. It was fresh and perfectly spiced with lots of perfectly cooked shrimp. Service was good but people smoking nearby and wind blowing in the wrong direction bothered us a bit. Live music was great btw!

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Colin , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The Boathouse is definitely one of Midland's local gems. We enjoyed many great evenings on the waterfront patio this summer and can't wait to get back out there next season.

As a vegan, I pretty much lived on 'leaning tower of veggies' sandwiches for months, but the new Thai noodle dish with tofu is my new go-to meal. It's freaking delicious.

The service is always top notch, the prices are reasonable, and the menu has something for everyone.

It's a great place to grab a drink after work, to have a nice meal or a special event - our company booked the upstairs dining room for some training sessions for instance.

Looking forward to many more good times at the Boathouse!

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thank you Colin. I'm both speechless and delighted you enjoy your dining occasions at the boathouse. Your testimony makes me even more proud of my staff that work to earn your trust each and every day. Best Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Anne , a member from Aurora,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Our group stopped in for lunch, Sat. Sept 8, 1012. We were pleasantly greeted by the friendly staff and delicious menu. The chowder was to die for and the Roy Sandwich was suburb, along with all our other menu choices. The Boathouse was a wonderful stop after a bike ride along the Tay Shore Trail. A perfect "re-fuel" for the continued ride. Thanks, Roy!

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Hi Anne and thank you Glad you enjoyed your "fuel" stop at the Boathouse. We're proud of our staff and their commitment to excellence and equally grateful for your kind remarks. Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Simply Cakes , a member from midland and area ,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Sunday September 23 was my husband birthday we were to have a big feast at our store but plans changed the staff at the boathouse helped us with the change and we were able to enjoy alot of wings that were by the way amazing at other location. A big thank you to all the staff for there help

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for taking the time to recognize our staff and for asking us to be part of your celebration Much appreciated Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Franz , a member from Hillsdale,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
We were at the restaurant last night (Aug 19, 2012). We always went to Scully's for the last 8 years to have good food and to sit on the waterfront patio. We did not notice that it was called the boathouse until we were sitting on the patio looking at the menu and waiting for almost 20 min for a waitress to show up. The menu was different and we were not allowed to smoke on the patio. I ate a clam chowder which was totally over salted and served with a burned piece of bread. My wife had crab cakes. She was unable to find more than 2 pieces of crab in it. We shared some calamari which were the worst grease calamari I ever ate. We paid over $ 50 for this and went home hungry. I will never go there again.

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for your note and we do regret you struggle with a non-smoking patio. Our "majority" customers define who and what we are and they have told us that to allow smoking would be highly inappropriate; not to mention the complicated legislative regulations we deal with given the fact we have a tent/awning. My Manager recalls speaking with you and was left with the impression all was well.

We apologize if we mis-read the situation. Please stop by and introduce yourself to me personally as we strive to exceed our customer's expectations in every sense of the word. Our kitchen team is lead by a very accomplished chef, Derek Mayes and when you stop by, we'll attempt to "make it right".

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Franz , a member from ,  wrote:
Thank you for your response. The non-smoking patio was not the big issue. It just was a disappointment to us. It is your business decission to make it non smoking. The bigger problem was the food. It seems your chef must have been on a break when our food was prepared. We believe in second chances and therefore apreciate your offer to meet you personally and hopefully enjoy a great meal at your restaurant.

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Brian Blair , a member from Cawaja Beach,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
We finally got a chance to grab lunch in Midland and ended up at The Boathouse. What a treat! The food,atmosphere and the service were all excellent. If you haven't tryed "The Roy Sandwich" you don't know what you're missing. I highly recommend you check out this restaurant....a very enjoyable experience!

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for the positive feedback. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to my staff whom I'm most proud of. Be sure to introduce yourself next time you stop by. Thanks for your support Brian- Best Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Lisa , a member from Midland, ON,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Enjoyed the most amazing dinner at The Boathouse last night! Pan seared Nova Scotia sea scallops nested on a bed of leeks and smoked bacon risotto... wow! Seriously an explosion of flavour and cooked to perfection.

Only bummer was that I had to come indoors to order it off the dinner menu, instead of enjoying it in the fresh air on the patio where the live music was, and where I preferred to be on such a nice summer's eve. Would highly recommend allowing scallop orders for guests soaking up the atmosphere on deck. :) Heck, I would come back every day for that dish!

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Hi Lisa. Thanks for sharing your evening with us and for the positive feedback on your meal. Serving our expanded menu on the patio makes us a little nervous as we are a fairly new business and truly aspire to excellence in operations. I promise we will review the decision again in the context of flawless execution. Best Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Lisa , a member from ,  wrote:
Hello Roy & Greg!

I want to thank you for taking my feedback into consideration... and for bringing the Boathouse's mouth watering scallop dish OUTDOORS to the patio!!! You've made me one very happy gal. ;)

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
monica , a member from vh,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
What A Great Time Listening To the Band On The Patio On A beautifull Saturday Afternoon Nice Cold beer And Great Appetizers, Definetly The Place To Be All Summer Long Check It Out Folks You Won't Be Disappointed "Thanks Roy" M

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Monica Another great day with another great band We are indeed fortunate! Thanks so much for the kind review and Happy Canada Day to you and yours Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Beth Claridge , a member from UK,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
As visitors to Midland, we were looking forward to a meal in such a lovely setting. The food was very good however we were rushed through the meal at such a rate we felt uncomfortable and unwelcomed. We did not give any signals that we were in a hurry and made attempts to slow the pace down. Main course arrived before we had finished the starters and the bill was presented in a such a way that I cetainly wanted to leave. Beth

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Mona , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The fries were terrible. I went when you first opened and you had delicious homemade fries. Now you have terrible, boring freezer fries. How can you put that delicious Angus burger next to those cheap bland and boring fries?!? :( When we asked the staff about the fries they said that it is because these ones hold heat better. What a terrible reason to change the fries! The prices are a bit on the high side for what you get. The service was pretty good overall.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for your comment I remember discussing your preference with you during your recent visit, for which I thank you once again. I also remember commenting on the fact that the World is a changing and my business model is designed to strike the balance of serving food fast and fresh to the best of our ability. Realizing you're in the food business, you may also know that McDonald's is known for having the World's best fries and they are cooked from a frozen state; not that I care to compete with the Golden Arches. After receiving your note, I immediately interviewed several customers and they love the fries. Given this rich feedback and my obsession to provide great service, may I suggest a fresh garden salad on your next visit as a substitute Thanks again Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
A Passion for Fashion , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
My husband and I joined friends for an anniversary celebration ( and also to support the fact you were donating 10% of your sales to CLH on May 16th ) at the Boathouse yesterday. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals; we had the sea scallops which were cooked to perfection and the Angus burger, which was also given 5 stars! When we were leaving, we ran into many people we knew and everyone commented on how delicious their meals were whether it was the fish and chips or the crab cakes and calamari. We had a server who told us it was her first day and it was due to a couple of minor glitches that I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 stars in this review. We did not mind though as she was very polite and friendly, and being in the service industry myself, I can understand the first day jitters. Overall, a great experience!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thank you for your understanding regarding the confidence and capability of our staff in training. We're currently ramping up for summer business and appreciate we don't always get it right. Hoping to delight on all fronts next time. I'm delighted with our kitchen staff who continue to make me extremely proud Cheers Roy- 1st Mate

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Sarah Heath , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Had dinner at the Boathouse last night. Food was awesome, but the service certainly left something to be desired. Our server did not seem very knowledgeable with the menu and seemed preoccupied with training another server--even though we seemed to be her only table. I would return for the food!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Hi Sarah. Thanks for your visit and for your review. We'll endeavour to improve on the service part of your experience. The fact that we're hiring and training tens of staff should be virtually seamless to our valued guests. I'll be sure to congratulate our Chef and his team. Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Tracy , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Once again I really enjoyed my dinner. The service and food was awesome. I was there tonight with a group from Zellers to say our goodbyes to one of our Co-workers. This was my 3rd time coming here, and I will be back again!!!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Tracy for your positive comments and repeat visits Much appreciated Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Angela & Paul , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
What a great place to celebrate an anniversary. From the moment we booked our reservation we knew we would not be disappointed. We were asked if we were celebrating a special event so they seated us at the best table in the house, upstairs with a view of the bay.

Stephanie, our server, was great. She looked after our every request. Craig, the Manager, came by to see how we were doing and Petrina, the chef that night even came by to see if we enjoyed the food. The food was excellent, from the appetizer to the pickerel dinner to the desert. Not to mention the excellent wine selection.

We could definitely see the team effort that is put into running this new exciting establishment and it is much appreciated. This was our 2nd time at the Boathouse and we will definitely continue to be patrons. Long over due for the Midland waterfront! Well done and keep up the good work.

Paul & Angela

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Paul Tricco , a member from Sudbury,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Good food...good people...good service.... Will be back again

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Paul for the feedback Hopefully you'll like the entertainment line up as well and, importantly, it fits with your travel plans Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Leah Mintz , a member from midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The first time I went everything was great food, service but the second time the food was great but the service was bad. We were asked what we order 2 times and it took so long. But I will go back and sit in the area of the first server. Still a great place!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Leah for the positive feed back on the food. We have a fantastic Chef and Kitchen staff. Thank you for letting us know that we have some room for improvemnet in the service department. Everyday we are striving to improve.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Laura Mattice , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I went to The Boathouse hoping for good things and that is what I got! Roy and Mary were hospitable hosts, the service was great, the atmosphere lively (but my friends and I could still talk comfortably amongst ourselves and hear one another), and the food yummy! So glad to see the service and food now match the wonderful location. We'll definitely return!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Laura for the positive feedback. Hope to see you on the patio real soon trusting summer will arrive ahead of schedule Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
createdbyandrea , a member from Innisfil,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Besides being by the water which is always nice, the people were great, the food was wonderful. I am going back when the sun is shining so I can sit on the wonderful patio!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for your support and see you in two weeks when the summer arrives ahead of schedule Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Integrated Woodlot Management , a member from Barrie,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I had lunch with my coworkers and the service was fantastic, but the food was even better. I really enjoyed my entire experience and will come back again and again in the future.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for choosing us for your lunch occasion. Look forward to opening the newly renovated patio shortly and serving you again Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
GI Jane Personal Training Services , a member from vICTORIA Harbour,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I am so happy to see it open and hopping and full of friendly people! The renos are beautiful, and the service was fantastic! Blue cheese burger was fantastic, but I agree about the soggy bun....Cheryl was a great server and always a friendly face! Nice to meet Roy, and be treated so well! Happy to have a new stomping ground! GI JANE

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks GI Jane for taking the time to pass along your comments. We'll work on the bun and forward along your positive remarks regarding our staff and trades folks who spruced the place up. Please look me up next time you're in Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
The Nosey Parker Society , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Hi Roy, We were there Wed. from cocktails and dinner to go... The staff was awesome...attention to detail was the utmost...I would suggest a pana bun for the burgers just because they get soggy in a carry out...oops...And would luv to see a Greek version of the Blue cheese burger...Fetta yum...For appetizer's the calimarie was delish...And your beers were great ! Lets hope the Town Council sits up and takes notice... Cheers Roy & Staff !

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for the visit and the feedback We're doing a lot of listening to our customers in the early stages of opening in order to get some rich feedback. After which, we may be tweaking certain decisions around service and menu. Best Roy.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
bill williams , a member from Tiny Ont,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Our first visit since Scully's was replaced. The bright spot in the experience was seeing Jason retained on staff. The man is not long for Midland area, surely he will rise up the food chain. My wife had fish and chips, rated 5 of 10. I had a blue cheese burger with a delightful salad and vinaigrette. In truth, probably the best burger I ever ate, rated 9 of 10. But still, $14.00 for a burger and salad.

Glancing at the menu, it seems the new owner is perhaps pricing himself out of the Midland market. $10.00 for bowl of soup, I don't think so. Lunch of fish and chips and a burger and a generous tip came to about $100.00. Granted there were 5 drinks, but i felt the glasses of wine were some what undersized for the price charged. I am a tad suspicious of the earlier reviews, all granting 5 stars. In my opinion, no one gets 5 stars, there is always room to improve.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Bill for taking the time to pass along your comments. 9 out of 10 for the Blue cheese burger means we still have work to do. As for Jason, we too think he's a star. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Rick Kloss , a member from London,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Excellent food, excellent service and great environment. I'll make this a regular stop in Midland!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Rick We appreciate your business Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Kris , a member from Orangeville,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I have had the pleasure to eat lunch here all week in training, I have tried something different every day and have not been disappointed once.. The food is fantastic, staff are very pleasant and quick and the view is awesome!!! A must try in the midland area...

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
I'll be sure to pass along your comments to the staff who strive each and every day to exceed expectations Best roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Michael , a member from London Ontario,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I have had the pleasure of having both lunch and dinner at the Boathouse. The staff are really friendly, the view of the water is beautiful and the food is fantasic!! Definitely a place in midland that you want to visit.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Much appreciated Michael Cheers roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Todd Bolce , a member from Newmarket on,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The staff, service and quality of food is second to non. I highly recommend this business and can't wait to come back.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Look forward to seeing you again soon thanks Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Jennifer Rikely , a member from Vancouver, BC,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
What a great spot! I was here for a week of training in the upstairs section of the restaurant. Roy and his staff were fantastic! The hardest part was not getting distracted by the water views! I highly recommend the Roy Sandwich - its amazing. I hope to be back again in the summer when the patio is in full swlng!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Jennifer. You and your group were a delight to serve. You were the first to experience everything our newly re-imaged private meeting room has to offer. Thanks Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Phoebe , a member from Penetanguishene,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I went to Boathouse for dinner tonight. Atmosphere was great, excellent service and food was spectacular!!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks for stopping by and for the kind remarks. April will bring in some great entertainment and feature local talent. On April 12th we showcase Marlon Gibbons and on the 21st, Cindy Thompson. The latter is billed as a belated St. Patty's day event given the fact we went dark in February. Not green beer you say! Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Brandon McLean , a member from Cambridge, ON.,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Absolutely gorgeous waterfront view! The food is also incredible, and the staff is amazing! Also, don’t forget to check-in with them on Foursquare; I’m currently the mayor. :)

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Brandon for your support Live local music is on it's way soon and the place will "rock" even more Best Roy

Share On Facebook

1 year ago
Chris Gordon , a member from Midland,  wrote:
You should hire us Roy, "Souled Out" is Simcoe County's most rockin' Classic Rock band featuring "Dylan Lock" on keyboards and vocals!!!!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Mark Logan , a member from Coldwater,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
My wife and I went here for our Sunday dinner tonight. From the service to the food this place was the best of both we have had in this area in a long time. We had never been to the previous restaurant at this location but will be having many dinners here now. If you are in the area or not we would definetly reccomend, its worth the drive! 6 out of 5 stars:-)

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Mark, thank you. I'll be sure to pass on your kind remarks to all staff who collectively participated in your positive experience Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Marlon Gibbons - Musician , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
had an awesome experience this afternoon at the Boathouse Eatery! Right from how friendly my Brother and I were greeted to how fast our food came, to how good the food and *new* ambiance was! In speaking with the new management, looks like things are only going to get better. If you haven't yet been, it's worth it 10-fold.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Marlon for sharing your experience It was our pleasure to serve you both and hope to see you many more times, not only as a customer but performing some of your own magic. Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Wayne Pearce , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Went for dinner Thursday night, food and service were excellent. Will be back again for sure.

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Wayne and look forward to seeing you again soon Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
411ontariokids.com , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
The Boathouse eatery was great! The restaurant renos are clean,modern and well done. Food was fresh and tasty. We had a great family meal and walked the harbour checking out the boats afterwards. This is a much needed welcome addition to Midland!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
The Waterfront is clearly Midland's jewel. We commit to do our part to polish our gift Thanks Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Tyler Herron , a member from Victoria Harbour,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you Roy, Your staff and food were fantastic and the atmosphere great as well! This looks like it will be a fantastic, positive improvement to the establishment. We will be back again and most certainly spread the word.

Thanks, Tyler and April Herron

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Tyler and April. Thank you for helping us celebrate our opening day and for taking the time to share your experience. Our new look, new talent and exciting menu are both customer focused and customer driven. Thanks again for your business. Cheers Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Kelly Moss , a member from Midland,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
Wow! The place looks amazing, and the food and friendly service were outstanding. Looking forward to sharing many good times with family and friends on the patio!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Kelly for your kind remarks. We will strive to delight you on every occasion. Best Roy

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Christine Elsdon , a member from Midland Ontario,  wrote:
Rated: 
 
 
 
 
 
I was very excited to hear the news! Looking forward to a great place to sit and enjoy a meal, a drink or both, with great views on such an awesome piece of property right on the water! Congratulations, Roy!

Share On Facebook

2 years ago
Roy Ellis , a member from ,  wrote:
Thanks Christine for your kind comments

We will sincerely strive to impress

Best

Roy

Share On Facebook
One moment please...
Taking too long?
 
 
 
 
 
Please do not review your own business. If you do, your review will show up highlighted in green and will be deleted.
You are responsible for the content of your review. You may be held liable if the content of your review is deemed to be defamatory.

Your Name: *
Your Location: *
Your Email: *
Your Photo: (Optional: Attach a photo of yourself to go with your review)
Your Rating:
 *    Roll your mouse over the stars and then click to rate.
Your Review: *
    

Post Review




One moment please...
Taking too long?
 
 
 
 

Build Your Business
About ShopMidland.com
Help & Support

~ Other Shop Local Advocates ~
411OntarioKids.com CLHFoundation.ca Downtown Midland BIA Georgian Bay Cancer Support Centre Huronia Museum
MidlandCommunity.ca MidlandFilmClub.com North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation Southern Georgian Bay Chamber of Commerce Town of Midland
© 2014 ShopCity.com, Inc. - All Rights Reserved

    |    

ShopLocally